Obama ~ Time Wasting

“With iPods and iPads; Xboxes and PlayStations – none of which I know how to work – information becomes a distraction, a diversion, a form of entertainment, rather than a tool of empowerment, rather than the means of emancipation.”

~ President Barack Obama

I’m with the president! If you want to be financially free and aren’t, you should take these words on board.

So many young people nowadays mis-use their time (and money) on such things as Twitter, Face Book, iphones, blogging etc. Gadgets abound. Information is burning their time instead of being used to improve their lives in some way.

I blog as I enjoy it but also  because I really hope to inspire people into taking financial control. It horrifies me that people can get into such a terrible financial mess through a lack of  basic financial education.

Blogging is a tool for me. Twitter, on the other hand, ruled me for a long time until I decided to go  ‘cold turkey’. Apart from being a time waster it’s so addictive!

Time is precious. If you are serious about escaping the rat race you must use your time wisely. Spend some time learning to read financial statements. Read, read, read! Listen to motivational material on your Ipod! Don’t spend your money on doodads or liabilities. Income producing assets are what you need.  Once you are out of the rat race you can play all the computer games and chat to all the friends you want!

You don’t have to throw out all your technological toys or close your Face Book account, but take control and limit their use. Spend your time planning your future. It’s called delayed gratification!

See 9 Initial Steps to Financial Freedom

Great picture by marcn

This entry was posted in Financial Freedom. Bookmark the permalink.