How to Feel Happy at Least 80% of the Time

Happiness

BANISH ALL NEGATIVE THOUGHTS before they can take hold.

This is the number one reason I manage to feel pretty happy at least 80% of the time. The tactic is not to get yourself in an unhappy state in the first place.

If a violent story comes on the TV News, I mute it! If I see disturbing images, I turn away! If my friends are bitching and moaning about all the things they hate, or exchanging horror stories, I change the subject (or leave the room!). I never ponder upsetting scenarios…especially ones that don’t exist!

DO NOT watch, read, listen to or think about anything that gets you down. You don’t have to be ignorant, but don’t take all that negative stuff on board. Sift it if you have to, then dump it.

If banishing unhappy thoughts isn’t appropriate or possible, you can change them instead. Recently my father had a heart attack; of course I wanted to think of him, so I changed the way my thoughts went. I imagined him saying  “You’re not going to get rid of me that easily” and filled my head with a vision of him 100% well again.
A week or so later, after a successful operation, I called him and he said those exact words!

So, what about the other 20% of the time? I believe it’s close to impossible to be happy all of the time (with the exception of a few very advanced monks who live in caves) because, let’s face it, we still face plenty of adversity in our day to day lives. Recognise the adversity for what it is. It will pass.

Remember, you get what you focus on, so the more unhappy thoughts you have the more you get. Mentally, put up a “NEGATIVE THOUGHTS NOT WELCOME”  sign and you will be amazed at how much better you feel!

Great photo by

Nattu

This entry was posted in Adversity, Happiness, Power of the Mind. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How to Feel Happy at Least 80% of the Time

  1. Nice one, but sometimes a good bitch is just what the doctor ordered to get it all out of my system! I love the story about your dad saying the words you’d visualised. Excellent stuff. It reminds me of a lady I knew in NZ who had a near death experience and just laughed it off saying “You can’t kill weeds.” Cheers, mate!

  2. khushi says:

    I really loved it about the father’s experience you wrote . I realy like the philosophy and have decided to practice it

  3. CoralM says:

    @Annabel
    If it works for you the odd moaning session isn’t bad. What I hate is when people start telling true ‘horror stories’. These definitely make me feel terrible. This is when a quick exit is in order!
    Thanks for commenting!

  4. CoralM says:

    @khushi
    That’s great. Good luck and thank you for commenting!

Comments are closed.