Poem on Life

“I bargained with Life for a penny,
And Life would pay no more,
However I begged at evening
When I counted my scanty store.

For Life is a just employer,
It’ll give you what you ask,
But, once you have set the wage,
Why you must bear the task.

I worked for a menial’s hire,
Only to learn, dismayed,
That any wage I had asked of Life
Life would have willingly paid.”


~Unknown

Photo by Per Ola Wiberg (Powi)

This entry was posted in Life, Quotes/Sayings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Poem on Life

  1. Jay says:

    Ah I first start this poem in Napoleon Hill’s book “Think and Grow Rich”. What I find ironic is things like “The Law of Attraction” and “The Secret” make it sound like it is a new idea. This is how life is. It says in this old book I read once. “And in all things you ask in prayer and believe you will recieve”. What was that book again…oh yeah THE BIBLE! It is amazing that we still do not get it. 🙂 Thanks Coral!

  2. Coral says:

    @Jay Ask and you will receive! I guess the good thing about the popularity of the “Law of Attraction” is that, although it’s not new, it is getting the message out to the ‘non-God’ people. Would you agree? Thanks a lot for your comment.

Leave a Reply

